Interior Image Slideshow

Summer Opportunities

LOOKING FOR SOMETHING TO DO THIS SUMMER? Check out these amazing opportunities to build your resume, develop leadership skills, explore your interests, and have fun this summer!

CONTACT THE GUIDANCE OFFICE FOR MORE INFORMATION OR DOWNLOAD THE COMPLETE LIST HERE.

Academic:

Pennsylvania Free Enterprise Week (PFEW) at Lycoming College & Pennsylvania College of Technology: Summer program for in-coming high school juniors & seniors to see what it’s like to run a business. https://www.pfew.org/

Summer Discovery: Precollege Enrichment, Academic, & Internship Programs. https://summerdiscovery.com

Adelphia University in New York: Precollege Program. https://precollege.adelphi.edu

Babson College: Summer Study for High School Students. https://www.babson.edu/admission/visiting-student-programs/babson-summer-study/

Bethel College: Summer Science Institute. https://engage.bethelks.edu/portal/bcssi

Boston University: Pre-College Programs. https://bu.edu/summer/highschool

Brandeis University: Precollege Programs. https://brandeis.precollegeprograms.org/

Case Western Reserve University: Pre-Collegiate Summer Programs. https://case.edu/summerprograms/

Columbia University: Summer Immersion Programs in NYC and Barcelona. http://www.sps.columbia.edu/hs

Cornell University Summer College: Precollege Programs. https://www.sce.cornell.edu/sc/programs/index.php

Duke University: Summer Session for High School Students. https://www.summersession.duke.edu

Freedom Schools Literacy Academy 2021: https://www.thecenterblacked.org/academies

Gettysburg College: Summer Academic Camps. https://www.gettysburg.edu/offices/conference-event-services/summer-programs

John Hopkins University: Summer Precollege Programs. https://summerprograms.jhu.edu

Lehigh University: Iacocca Global Entrepreneurship Intensive. https://global.lehigh.edu/iacocca/highschool

Messiah College Camps: Online Young Writers’ Workshop and Psychology Camp. https://www.messiah.edu/camps

Miami University: Summer Scholars Program. https://MiamiOH.edu/summerscholars

Montclair State University Early College Programs: Language Institute. https://www.montclair.edu/admissions/apply-and-check-status/how-to-apply/early-college-program/

New York University (NYU): Summer Precollege Programs. https://nyu.edu/highschool

Pennsylvania School for Excellence in the Agricultural Science (PSEAS): Summer Enrichment Program. http://agsci.psu.edu/school-for-excellence

Roberts Wesleyan College: Summer classes and camps for high school students. http://roberts.edu/summerclasses; http://roberts.edu/summercamps

Smith College: For academically talented young women. www.smith.edu/summer

Stanford Pre-Collegiate Studies: Programs for students in grades 8-12. https://spcs.stanford.edu/find-yourself

Stevens Institute of Technology: Pre-College Programs https://www.stevens.edu/admissions/pre-college-programs

Susquehanna University: Summer Precollege Programs. http://www.Susqu.edu/summer-programs

Templeton Honors College: Summer Scholars Program. https://info.cltexam.com/summer-scholars-program

Trip Initiative: A hands-on, independent research experience for high school students. www.tripinitiative.com

University of Michigan: The Joy of Coding. https://continuum.engin.umich.edu/programs/jumpstart-coding/

University of Pittsburgh: Health Care Scholars Academy. www.hcsa.pitt.edu

University of Rochester: Pre-College Online Program. https://rochesteronline.precollegeprograms.org/

Washington University in St. Louis: Pre-College Summer Programs. http://summerexperiences.wustl.edu/

West Chester Summer University Summer Tech Camps: Coding, Game Development, Robotics, and Design for Kids and Teens. https://www.idtech.com/locations/pennsylvania-summer-camps/west-chester-university

William and Mary: Pre-College Program in American History. https://www.wm.edu/as/niahd/precolsummer/

Worcester Polytechnic Institute: Frontiers Pre-College Experience. https://wpi.edu/+frontiers

Service:

Visions Service Adventures. https://visionsserviceadventures.com/

Habitat for Humanity. https://www.habitat.org/

Mennonite Mission Network Service Programs for Teens. https://www.mennonitemission.net/serve

Travel and International:

Hillsdale College High School Summer Study and Travel Programs: Travel destinations include London, Paris, Rome, and Washing, D.C. https://www.hillsdale.edu/academics/high-school-study/

Oxbridge Academic Programs: Summer Programs in France, Spain, & England. http://www.oxbridgeprograms.com/

The Experiment in International Living: 31 Programs in 25 countries, including Germany, Jordan, China, England, and the United States. https://www.experiment.org/

Music and the Arts:

AMDA: American Musical & Dramatic Academy. High School Summer Conservatory. www.amda.edu/hscamp

Boston University: Academy of Media Production. bu.edu/amp

DeSales University Summer Video Institute. https://www.desales.edu/svi

Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising Summer Programs. http://fidm.edu/en/calendar/summer+programs/

Messiah College Camps: Young Filmmakers’ Workshop, Jazz Camp, and more! https://www.messiah.edu/camps

Parsons Paris: Precollege online fashion programs. https://fashionanddesign.precollegeprograms.org/

Pratt Institute: Summer Precollege Program. https://www.pratt.edu/precollege

Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD): The University for Creative Careers Summer Programs. http://www.scad.edu/summer

Summer Filmmakers Collective: https://nyfilmschool.com/summer-sarah-lawrence-college-online

Temple University: Tyler Precollege Summer Programs in Art & Architecture. https://tyler.temple.edu/continuing-education-program/pre-college-programs. Scholarship Certificates available in the Guidance Office.

Wheaton College Conservatory of Music Summer Music Camp. https://www.wheaton.edu/wheaton-college-conservatory-of-music/music-events-calendar/summer-music-camp/

Work Experiences:

Spruce Lake Summer Staff: Retreat Center & Wilderness Camp. https://www.sprucelake.org/about/employment/

Bethany Birches Camp: Get paid to go rock climbing and mountain boarding! www.bethanybirches.org/jobs/

Camp Hebron Summer Staff: Paid and volunteer positions. www.SummerAtHebron.com

Camp Men-O-Lan Summer Staff: Apply online by March 31. http://menolan.org/youth-camps/summer-staff/

American Pool Lifeguard: Apply online. https://guardforlife.com/lifeguard-jobs-in-pennsylvania/

Fox Pool Management: Become a Lifeguard! Email at info@foxpool management.com or text at 215-802-4111. More information can be found at http://www.foxpoolmanagement.com/

Other Opportunities to Consider:

  • Volunteer in your community (Vacation Bible Schools, Senior Living Communities, Babysitting)
  • Job shadow in a field of interest to you.
  • Go on a service or mission trip.
  • Visit colleges, take a class at a local college, or participate in a summer program at a college (Many colleges are offering online programs for the summer of 2021.)
  • Join a summer sports league.
  • Work or volunteer at a local summer camp – our EC8 Campus has one