Academic Awards

Academic Awards 2021-22

Photos by Mike Landis Photographer

The Dock Award

The highest honor given to a student, the Christopher Dock Award is presented to one senior male and female in recognition of all-around campus citizenship, leadership, and scholarship during high school. The 2022 winners of the Dock Award are Lydia Longacre and Drew Ness.

The award was presented by Dr. Sharon Fransen, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction, during Dock's 67th annual Commencement on Saturday, June 11, 2022.

Subject Area Award Winners

These awards are presented to the seniors who have shown outstanding performance in a given subject area as recognized by the Dock faculty. The recipients for 2021-22 include (l to r): Ellie Supplee (Family & Consumer Sciences); Irene Park (Mathematics); David Michel (Music); Max Bai (Spanish); Isabel Bergin (Drama); Gabriel Gunden (Technology); Katherine Wenzel (Paul R. Clemens Bible); Aidan Jurin (Physical Education); Ryleigh May (Charles Clemmer Art); Braden Churches (Science); Alessandra Scorsone (Writer’s Award); Jonah Chavez (Social Studies); Clara Benner (Physical Education).

Citizenship Award

The Citizenship Award is sponsored by Lee and Ruth Delp (’64) and State Rep. Steve Malagari. The award is presented to one student in each grade who consistently shows good character, citizenship, involvement and responsibility at Dock, and consistently goes above and beyond to meet the needs of the campus and their classmates. Citizenship Awards for 2022 were presented to (l to r) Anna Smith (grade 10), Abbie Brown (grade 12), McKenzie Derstine (grade 11), and Isaiah Giesbrecht (grade 9).

Sam & Helen Lapp Peacemaking Award

Tomir Johnson (above, and left) is the 2022 recipient of the Sam & Helen Lapp Peacemaking Award, given to a student who makes a significant contribution to peace on the Dock campus. 

Perfect Attendance Award

Three students earned perfect attendance records for the 2021-22 school year, including (right, l to r) Steven Liu, Cindy Tong, and Tyler Derstein.


Daniel J. Reinford Scholarship

This scholarship recognizes a student’s achievements and contribution to campus life, and is awarded to students who will be attending a Mennonite college or university. The 2022 recipient is Lydia Longacre.

L. Travis Bechtel Scholarship

This scholarship in memory of Dock graduate Travis Bechtel (Class of 1991). Sponsored by Baum, Smith, & Clemens, this scholarship is awarded to a senior majoring in Business and excelling in three of Travis’ interests—academics, athletics, and business. The 2022 recipient of this award is Clara Benner.

Vanessa L. Myers Women in STEM Scholarship

This scholarship is a $1,000 award to a female Dock graduate who is entering a STEM-related field of study (Science, Technology, Engineering, or Mathematics. Laurel Latt is the recipient of this scholarship.

Laurel Latt

  Doris Heilemann Scholarship

Upon her death, a local woman, Doris S. Heilemann, established a scholarship fund for students pursing a bachelor of science degree in nursing or a related field. This scholarship is a four-year scholarship funded one year at a time.  Katherine Wenzel will receive $6,000 for the 2022-23 academic year. 

Katherine Wenzel

Rotary Club Scholarships

The Rotary Club of Souderton-Telford awards a $2,000 STEM Scholarship to a senior who plans to study science, engineering, mathematics, or technology at a four-year college or university and then pursue a career in a similar field. This year's recipient is Bryce Huang (pictured far left). The Souderton-Telford Rotary also offers a $2,000 Business, Arts & Humanities Scholarship to a senior who plans to study business, arts, or humanities at a four-year college or university. This year's recipients are June Park (left, center) and Dylan Zhu (far right). June Park also received the $750 Harleysville Rotary Club Scholarship, awarded to a senior who writes an essay on how the Rotary's Four-Way Speech Test has made an impact on their life.

Medical Staff at Jefferson Lansdale Hospital Scholarship

This $500 scholarship is awarded to a Dock high school senior who plans to pursue a career in the medical field. This year's recipient is Irene Park.

Irene Park

Hospitality Award

Sophomore Maria DeRosa was given a special award for her willingness to show hospitality to students visiting the Dock campus this year.

Maria DeRosa